“Mad Max: Fury Road” tops Austin Film Critics Association year-end list

View Caption Hide Caption

imagesThe Austin Film Critics Association (AFCA) announced its 2015 awards Tuesday, with George Miller’s “Mad Max: Fury Road” winning Best Film and Best Director and leading the group’s Top Ten list.

“Room” received three awards, the most for a single film. “Ex Machina” and “Inside Out” also won multiple awards this year.

Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay star in "Room." (Ruth Hurl/Element Pictures)

Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay star in “Room.” (Ruth Hurl/Element Pictures)

“Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter,” directed by David Zellner, received the Austin Film Award. This award is given to a film made by a director whose primary residence was Austin during the time of filming.

Michael Fassbender won Best Actor for “Steve Jobs,” while Brie Larson received Best Actress for “Room.”

Larson’s costar, Jacob Tremblay, was named the Robert R. “Bobby” McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist of 2015. Emma Donoghue, adapting her 2010 novel, won Best Adapted Screenplay. “Room” also was #5 on the AFCA Top Ten list.

Sylvester Stallone won Best Supporting Actor for “Creed;” the film was #8 on the AFCA Top Ten list.

Alicia Vikander received Best Supporting Actress for “Ex Machina.” Directed by Alex Garland, “Ex Machina” also picked up Best First Film.

Directed by Pete Docter, “Inside Out” received Best Animated Film in addition to Best Original Screenplay for Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley. “Inside Out” also tied for #6 on the AFCA Top Ten list.

László Nemes’ haunting “Son of Saul” won Best Foreign-Language Film and director Joshua Oppenheimer’s “The Look of Silence” won Best Documentary.

Edward Lachman won Best Cinematography for “Carol,” a film shot on 16mm and blown up to 35mm.

shoppingEnnio Morricone won Best Score for “The Hateful Eight.”

The group also recognized Austin-based writer/animator Don Hertzfeldt with a special award celebrating his extraordinary short filmmaking and contributions to animation spanning two decades, with 2015’s award-winning “World of Tomorrow” being recognized as his best work to date. I would be shocked if he wasn’t nominated for, then did not win, this year’s Oscar for Best Animated Short.





The full list of winners, plus the AFCA Top Ten Films of 2015 list:

Best Film: “Mad Max: Fury Road” (dir: George Miller)

Best Director: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Actor: Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs

Best Actress: Brie Larson, “Room”

Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone, “Creed”

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”

Best Original Screenplay: Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, “Inside Out”

Best Adapted Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, “Room”

Best Cinematography: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

Best Score: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

Best Foreign-Language Film: “Son of Saul” (dir: László Nemes)

Best Documentary: “The Look of Silence” (dir: Joshua Oppenheimer)

Best Animated Film: “Inside Out” (dir: Pete Docter)

Best First Film: “Ex Machina” (dir: Alex Garland)

The Robert R. “Bobby” McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award: Jacob Tremblay, “Room”

Austin Film Award: “Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter” (dir: David Zellner)

Special Honorary Award: Austin-based writer/animator Don Hertzfeldt

AFCA 2015 Top Ten Films:

  1. “Mad Max: Fury Road”
  2. “Spotlight”
  3. “Carol”
  4. “Anomalisa”
  5. “Room”
  6. TIE: “Ex Machina” and “Inside Out”
  7. “Creed”
  8. “The Big Short”
  9. “Sicario”

View Comments 0

%d bloggers like this: