Austin Film Festival 2015: Here are all of your award winners!

View Caption Hide Caption

 Austin Film Festival (AFF) announced its 2015 Jury and Hiscox Audience and Courage Award Winners in Film, as well as the Screenplay & Teleplay Competition winners.


The following Jury award winners were selected by category:

Narrative Feature: The Exile, written by Arturo Ruiz Serrano

Documentary Feature: Monsterman, directed by Antti Haase

Comedy Vanguard Feature: Baby, Baby, Baby, written by Brian Klugman

Dark Matters Feature: Sunny Side Up, written by Willem Bosch

Dark Matters Feature Honorable Mention: The Lion’s Path, written by Sophie-Anne Beaudry

Narrative Short: Vainilla, written by Susana López Rubio

Narrative Student Short: Kimi Kabuki, written by Yoko Okumura

Documentary Short: Chau, Beyond the Lines, directed by Courtney Marsh

Animated Short: The Meek, written by Joe Brumm

Scripted Digital Series: School Nurse, created by Tom Beach, Laura Boersma, and John Stewart Muller


After each Festival screening, audiences voted for the Hiscox Audience Awards, recognizing film favorites among the 2015 slate. The following Hiscox Audience Award winners were selected by category:


Narrative Feature: Keep In Touch, written by Sam Kretchmar and Michael Covino

Documentary Feature: Mully directed by Scott Haze

Documentary Feature Honorable Mention: Of Dogs and Men directed by Michael Ozias

Dark Matters Feature:Reparation written by Kyle Ham and Steve Timm

Comedy Vanguard Feature: Baby, Baby, Baby written by Brian Klugman

Narrative Short: Best Wishes from Millwood written by Max Baker

Documentary Short: The Trials of Constance Baker Motley directed by Rick Rodgers

Animated Short: The Present written by Fabio Cavalcanti and Jacob Frey

Narrative Student Short: Amateur Dictator written by Zach Carver

Scripted Digital Series: Master Class created by Justin Wright Neufeld

Heart of Film: A Single Frame directed by Brandon Dickerson

Stories From Abroad: El Jeremías written by Ana Sofía Clerici

Texas Independent: Jack’s Apocalypse written by Will Moore

Marquee Feature: Until 20 directed by Jamila Paksima and written by Geraldine Moriba


“Until 20”

The first ever Courage Award went to Jamila Paksima’s and Geraldine Moriba’s Until 20, the story of Texan James Ragan’s quest to live a full  life despite his terminal battle with osteosarcoma.

In continuation of AFF’s mission to find and support independent filmmakers, three films were already picked up for distribution at this year’s Festival including Comedy Vanguard “3rd Street Blackout,” “The Teller and the Truth” picked up by FilmBuff, and James Franco’s “Memoria” acquired by Monterey Media.
The following Screenplay Competition winners were selected by category:

Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East: Detroit by Robert Rue

Comedy Screenplay Award: Maxwell 2.0 by Paul Sanford

Enderby Entertainment Award: The Great Debate by David Hoffman

Darkwoods Productions Sci-Fi Award: The Innkeeper by Michael Catinari

Horror Award: 77 Minutes by Shani Grewal

AMC One-Hour Teleplay Pilot Award: Friend of the Devil by Michael Ouellette

Sitcom Teleplay Pilot Award: Newsperson by Michael Drake

Short Screenplay Award: The New World by Brian Rawlins

Scripted Digital Series Award: Creepypasta by Will Zech& Alex Cope

One-Hour Teleplay Spec Award: The Americans: Custody by Larry Caldwell

Sitcom Teleplay Spec Award: Workaholics: Bring Your Kid To Work Day by Greg Brainos



View Comments 0

%d bloggers like this: